SEED by Ania Ahlborn – Book Review

The second book in my 24-hour reading marathon was SEED by Ania Ahlborn. This was one of those books that made me tweet about it immediately upon reading the last sentence. Yum, it was good!

From the cover alone I expected creeped-out, pulse-pounding hours of reading. I mean, look at it, doesn’t it just give you goosebumps? The blurb is equally spooky. (I’ll post it below for the lazy :-) )

From the beggining I was hooked, and Alhborn just kept ratcheting up the tension all the way until the end. She writes with an honest elegance, cutting to the core of human emotions and fear without author-interjection, making the characters live and breathe within the pages of her words. 

I’m not sure why women are mostly absent from the list of stellar horror writers, but one thing is for sure, with Seed as her debut novel, Ahlborn is set on a course to take her rightful place beside notables such as King and Konrath/ Kilbourn very soon.

Product Description from Amazon
Fans of Stephen King, Jack Kilborn, and Blake Crouch… prepare to meet the Devil.

In the vine-twisted swamps of Louisiana, the shadows have teeth.

Jack Winter has spent his entire life running from something no one else can see. His childhood is his darkest secret, but after a near fatal accident along a deserted road, the darkness he was sure he’d escaped rears its ugly head… and smiles.

But this time, he isn’t the only one who sees the soulless eyes of his past. This time, his six-year-old daughter Charlie leans into his ear and whispers: “Daddy, I saw it too.”

And then she begins to change.

Faced with reliving the nightmares of his childhood, Jack watches his daughter spiral into the shadows that had nearly consumed him twenty years before.

But Charlie isn’t the only one who’s changing.

Jack never outran the darkness. It’s been with him all along.

And it’s hungrier than ever.

A new breed of dark fiction: the subtlety of Seed will haunt you, and the end will wickedly satisfy.

{See! How deliciously creepy!}

Oh, and don’t forget to head over to Amazon and snag your FREE copy of Skin. Today’s the last day it will be free for a good while!

About these ads

Posted on January 9, 2012, in books, Reading and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,592 other followers

%d bloggers like this: